Netflix top picks part 2

The previous Netflix top picks got so many lovely comments I thought why not make another list? After all, Netflix took down quite a lot of movies en tv shows, but in return… NEW ONES HAVE ARRIVED!

Same as last time, I will be separating tv shows and movies, it’s probably a bit easier to read that way.

Tv shows:

Riverdale: riverdale1As a new school year begins, the town of Riverdale is still mourning the tragic death of high school golden boy Jason Blossom. Archie Andrews (KJ Apa) is still the all-American teen, but during the summer he realised he wants to pursue a career in music. The friendship with his classmate Jughead Jones (Cole Sprouse) is fractured. Girl-Next-Door
Betty Cooper (Lili Reinhart) is anxious to see her
crush Archie after being away all summer, but she’s not ready to tell him how she feels. New student Veronica Lodge (Camila Mendes) arrives in town from New York with her mother. And then there is Cheryl Blossom, the twin of Jason Blossm. She has a few secrets of her own…” Quite a hype around this tv show, but it is incredible. It has quite the sixties vibe, so sometimes I get confused when I see a smartphone, but it is actually set in present day. Fantastic show, it has mystery, murder, really recommend!

Marvel’s Iron Fist: “Danny Rand returns to New York City after having gone missing for 15 years, trying to reconnect with his past and his family legacy. He fights against the criminal element corrupting his world around him with his incredible kung-fu mastery and ability to summon the awesome power of the fiery Iron Fist.” People have either been loving this or hating it. I have just finished this and I have been loving it, just like I loved Luke Cage, Jessica Jones and Daredevil. Because of my dad I grew up with movies of Bruce Lee, Steven Seagal and Jackie Chan, so the fight scenes in the Marvel tv shows really interest me. I often find myself re-watching the fight scenes, because gosh, it’s just great how fast they move (and mostly punch and kick).

Frequency: “A pfrequencyolice detective in 2016 discovers that she is able to speak via a ham radio with her estranged father; Frank Sullivan, a detective who died in 1996 and the two must work together to change the history of tragic events to come while
also getting the chance to heal their complicated relationship.”
A shorter plot summary, but I couldn’t tell a lot more without spoiling the storyline oops. But such a great show! And the connection she has with her father, how they show it in the tv show. Fantastic. 

A Series of Unfortunate Events: “After a fire destroys their home, possesions, and parents, the Baudelaires are sent to live with a distant relative, Count Olaf, who turns out to be a dastardly criminal after the youngsters’ fortune. As they cooperate with the evil Count’s twisted plans, the Orphans learn from several mysterious relatives and guardians, there is something deeper that ties their parents, Count Olaf, and all of their mysterious new allies together. The deeper they get in their investigation, the more they discover bout their parents dark family secrets.” I actually haven’t seen this one yet, but I’ve been dying to! I’ve heard so many good things about it. And also the series has been renewed for a second season, so yay!

B9v1JCFIMAA7CgFiZombie: “Liv Moore, a medical student, gets invited in a party which turns into a macabre zombie arena. Liv wakes up from the dead and becomes a zombie. For maintaining her humanity she must eat human brains so she began working in coroner’s office to access brains. Eating a brain gives her memories and traits of that person. So she helps detective Clive Babineaux to solve the murder as a psychic.” I remember watching the trailer for this show and having no clue if it was gonna be good. But my god is it good. It is so different and exciting. Basically Liv eats the brain of a different person every episode, so every episode she acts differently and it’s so funny to watch. Really recommend this!

Movies:

 Finding Dory: “Dory is a wide-eyed, blue tang fish who suffers from memory loss every 10 seconds or so. The one thing she can remember is that she somehow became separated from her parents as a child. With help from her friends Nemo and Marlin, Dory embarks on an epic adventure to find them. Her journey brings her to the Marine Life Institute, a conservatory that houses diverse ocean species. Dory now knows that her family reunion will only happen if she can save mom and dad from captivity.” I kid you not, I cried so much throughout this movie. I did not expect to cry that much. The way Dory remembers stuff is lovely to see and how proud she is of herself. It’s so great to watch!

The Blind Side: “The Blind Side” depicts the story of Michael Oher, a homeless African-Blind_side_posterAmerican youngster from a broken home, taken in by the Touhys, a well-to-do white family who help him fulfill his potential. At the same time, Oher’s presence in the Touhys’ lives leads them to some insightful self-discoveries of their own. Living in his new environment, the teen faces a completely different set of challenges to overcome. As a football player and student, Oher works hard and, with the help of his coaches and adopted famil
y, becomes an All-American offensive left tackle.”
Okay, second movie that made me cry like a baby, but it is really hard not to with this movie. Such a beautiful movie with a incredible storyline. 

 

Beauty and the Beast (1991): “An arrogant young prince and his castle’s servants fall under the spell of a wicked enchantress, who turns him into the hideous Beast until he learns to love and be loved in return. The spirited, headstrong village girl Belle enters the Beast’s castle after he imprisons her father Maurice. With the help of his enchanted servants, including the matronly Mrs. Potts, Belle begins to draw the cold-hearted Beast out of his isolation.” Ever since I saw this movie (I was about 6) it has been my favourite Disney film and it still is! I always pictured myself as Belle, because we both love reading, have a wonderful father-daughter bond and well brown hair/brown eyes. Still to this day I love Belle and I can relate to her life so well, before she met the Beast obviously.


Captain America: Civil War: “After another incident involving the Avengers results in collateral damage, political pressure mounts to install a system of acountability, headed by a governing body to oversee and direct the team. The new status quo fractures the Avengers, resulting in two camps, one led by Steve Rogers and his desire for the Avengers to remain free to defend humanity without goverCivil-War-2nment interference, and the other following Tony Stark’s surprising decision to support government oversight and accountability.” 
I will not annoy you with the huge love I have for Marvel, but I had to mention this movie. It is definitely one of my favourite Marvel Movies. The love I have for Steve Rogers (Captain America) and Bucky Barnes (Captain America’s BFF and former assassin) is infinite. So yeah. Just go watch it, it’s amazing.

I hope I provided you with enough new tv shows and movies to watch! What are some of your favourite tv shows and movies (on Netflix or just on tv) ?

Love, Larice

 

 

 

 

 

28 Replies to “Netflix top picks part 2”

  1. I’m currently watching Iron Fist with my dad, at ep. 7 now. I don’t know what to think about this xD it has the same kind of feeling as Arrow. The fight scenes could have been waaay better. Even Jackie Chan at his age does better fighting scenes xD but I’m still watching it so hope it gets a little bit intenser hehe, as for the rest I don’t use Netflix at all. The rest of the family uses it… even though I pay lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahah completely agree! But it’s not too bad. I have this love for the Marvel shows before I even watch it so yeah haha. And same, I mean I do use Netflix a lot, but my mom was always like “no we are not getting Netflix, it only costs money” and now I am paying for the whole family, a bit unfair lol.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve heard so much about Riverdale but wasn’t sure what it was about, great synopsis! I’ll definitely give it a watch! A series of unfortunate events is on my list as I loved the old movie. I’d never heard of frequency before but it sounds great!
    Thanks for the awesome recommendations!
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. These sound great, thanks for sharing! I haven’t had much time to watch TV recently as I’ve been busy with uni work and normal family life but I think it’s time that I sit down at some point and find myself a good series to binge watch & some junk food to accompany me :).

    Ellie Xx | http://www.make-it-up.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I watched it when I was babysitting, I put the kids to bed and thought “oh why not” well bad idea. Am pretty sure I kept them awake with my crying haha. Yaaaayy, it’s always great finding a movie-soulmate haha. X

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Wait, finding dory is on Netflix?!? Excuse me while I go put that on….. also completely loving Riverdale at the minute! My favourite things to watch at the minute are Greys Anatomy, House, Designated Survivor and 24!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

