To Blakelake

In honor of International Women’s day:

My inspiration? My best friend. She is the kindest, smartest, most beautiful and down to earth person I know. She simply doesn’t care what anyone thinks of her. And I admire that so much. She is always a ray of sunshine. Even when things get tough, she manages to put a smile on my face.
I have known her since I was 12 and I couldn’t be happier to still have her in my life. We both go to different schools now. She is also moving to another city, on the other side of the country to go to UNI after the summer. American studies, that’s what she will be doing the next few years. And I ¬†am so proud of her. She went to high school for 7 years to be able to go to UNI instead of college. Yes, college is a fantastic achievement as well, but I am just really proud of her. She didn’t have to go to school for another 2 years, she purposely chose for it.

An example of why I love my best friend so much and why she inspires me: last month she surprised me by sending me a birthday/Valentinesday card. She wrote a two pages long text. Wishing me a happy birthday, telling me to catch up on the new season of The Vampire Diaries, because she needs someone to talk to about it. Telling me that she hopes that in the future I will have the best husband in the world and have wonderful kids, because according to her I would be the best mommy. She asked me to go to her prom, doesn’t matter who I go with, as long as I will be there. She even drew small doodles on the card of us with a text balloon “we will be the cool moms in the playground someday”.

I dedicate this one to you (you know it’s about you when you read this). We don’t see each other as much as we used to, which used to be 5 days a week since we went to the same school. But now, if we are lucky, we see each other once every few months. It does make me realise how precious our time together is.

We talked about getting a small tattoo together when you turn 18 this year. We talked about what it would be like to be pregnant at the same time and how we would totally be those cheesy best friends having photoshoots with our pregnant bellies. We talked about having families of our own and how our kids will hopefully be best friends as well.

My point is: I am so blessed to have you in my life. How lucky am I that the universe chose you to be my best friend? Here is to, hopefully, fingers crossed, a lifetime of being the best of friends. Thank you for inspiring me with your silliness and awkwardness, because I honestly don’t know what I would do without you.

Love, Bonnie

(Blakelake is my nickname for her, Bonnie is her nickname for me, sorry if it caused a bit of confusion)

Leave a Reply

