Life as a student [pt. 2]

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Maybe you remember my very first blogpost; life as a student. I talked about what it was like suddenly being a student, being responsible for so many things, being an adult, what it was like for me the first few days. For some reason I didn’t even realise I forgot to update you guys, because this week I finished my first semester of college and quite a lot has happened.

Before I started studying Journalism I knew that the first year would be a tough one, I had been told so. But I hadn’t realised how tough it would be; getting an assignment and having to hand it in the next day, sometimes multiple assignments. Pitching an idea for an article, contacting (important) people for that article. Forming an actual editorial office and making a tabloid. Blogging for school, which I started a bit late and resulted in me having to write 6 blogposts in one day and to top it all off I had my first exam last tuesday.

I was probably the most nervous about my exam. It was the very first, so you have no clue what the exam is going to look like, how they ask the questions and all that. That stresses me out, because I’m the type of person who wants to be prepared for everything and that includes wanting to know what I’m up against. In the end it turned out I didn’t have to be nervous at all, in fact I had studied most of the questions and knew the answers to almost every question, so that was a relief.

Another thing about college; classes. If I look at a regular week it’s not that bad. Most days I start around 11am, which is so wonderful let me tell you that. But of course when your classes start later on the day you will be at school a little bit longer. So more often I find myself still having classes at 6pm, which isn’t too bad, but definitely feels weird. Most of the time I have at least one day off, but it’s not really a day off; you get that time to get busy with school. Which is nice, but also really difficult, because in my mind it is a day off while actually I should be doing school stuff that day.

Let’s just say I need to get used to college. My classmates are still the best, though sometimes I worry about how much fun we have, I still want to get my study points this year. But should be fine as long as I keep reminding myself to study. Beside all the deadlines I actually enjoy going to my classes! After all I chose to become a journalist and I will do everything I can to get through these 4 years.

Love, Larice

Ps: any of you still in college or UNI as well ? How are you dealing with it ? I would love to know, let me know in the comments.

9 Replies to “Life as a student [pt. 2]”

    1. So incredibly sorry for the late response; but no need to worry! Yes, it is quite hard, but it is for everyone. Nobody really knows what they are getting into and what they are supposed to do. Just try the best you can, ask questions if you don’t understand and don’t be ashamed to do so! Good luck honey, and if you ever need to talk to someone, you can always come to me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Don’t worry!! I totally understand you have lots of work to do. Thank you, I will definitely remember this when I start. Do you have any recommendations on how to write successful essays for this career? I’m so nervous about everything hahah

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Well truth to be told, I didn’t get the best grades for it. So far I’ve written about 4 articles, and overall I got a 6,7 (out of 10) which isn’t too bad, but it’s not great. But if I come across some good advice or critical points that could be helpful, I will let you know! Also at my college you don’t really get told HOW to write a great article, you just have to write and then you get some points of things you should do better. But i don’t know what your UNI is like haha Xx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

