Life as a student

ME?! A STUDENT?! GOING TO COLLEGE?! Some of you can probably relate to this thought, maybe you even freaked out as much as I did. Or thinking “I don’t want summer to end” or “I’m not ready to be a student yet”. Well let me tell you this, I had the same thoughts, but it is amazing how people can help you get through a tough situation like that. I will tell you a short story about how I got through it.

 The first moment I realised college was going to start very, very soon, I have to admit, I got extremely nervous. Big changes have always been a bit of a struggle for me. Especially because people expect you to be mature and responsible when going to college. It would be an understatement if I said I wasn’t the least bit intimidated by the thought of starting there.
So I attempted to get rid of those nervous by reading books, watching tv shows and basically doing everything else to procrastinate preparing for college (as I usually do when I get nervous). But I knew that at some point I had to get my sh*t together. And I tried. I made sure all my finances were okay, bought my schoolbooks and a lot of stationary. But I also had to pay for my health insurance, netflix-account and a spotify-account. Even though they’re not all as equally important it still costs a lot of money and it made me realise that my life as a student was officially starting. Because, you know, as a student you’re basically broke half the time.
But as crazy as it sounds, it was actually a comforting thought, because it reminded me that I wasn’t the only one starting college, becoming a student. And I surely couldn’t be the only one being nervous about going to college for the first time.
Then the 1st of september it was time to meet the people I was going to spend the rest of my freshman year with. And let me tell you, I was so relieved to find out they were (and still are) a bunch of lovely people and I couldn’t have been happier with them. This eased my nerves, but of course it takes some time to get used to this new life, but I haven’t got the slightest doubt it will all turn out fine.
What was your first experience with college ? How did you get through it ? I would love to know !
One Reply to “Life as a student”

Leave a Reply

